Love Me Some Townes Van Zandt

STG and American Standard Time present Love Me Some Townes Van Zandt on Monday, March 7, 2011 at Seattle’s Tractor Tavern.

Love Me Some Townes Van Zandt brings together Seattle musicians Star Anna & Justin Davis, Pete Droge & Elaine Summers, Kasey Anderson, Rusty Willoughby, Shane Tutmarc, Kevin Large, Gary Westlake and more to celebrate the birth date of a true legend of American Songwriting, TVZ.

Townes would have turned 67 years old today. And, just because it popped into my mind this evening while contemplating Mr. Van Zandt here’s verse from the great French poet, gun runner, and libertine.

Evening Prayer by Arthur Rimbaud
Translated by Paul Schmidt

I spend my life sitting, like an angel in a barber’s chair
Holding a beer mug with deep-cut designs
My neck and gut both bent, while in the air
A weightless veil of pipe smoke hangs.
Like steaming dung within an old dovecote
A thousand Dreams within me softly burn:
From time to time my heart is like some oak
Whose blood runs golden where a branch is torn.
And then, when I have swallowed down my Dreams
In thirty, forty mugs of beer, I turn
To satisfy a need I can’t ignore,
And like the Lord of Hyssop and of Myrrh
I piss into the skies, a soaring stream
That consecrates a patch of flowering fern.


About Iaan Hughes

Iaan Hughes is a deejay on 91.3 KBCS in Seattle. He plays country & western music.
This entry was posted in Country, Folk, Honky Tonk, Music, Radio, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

