Evening In A Darkened Room

There are few perfect moments in a lifetime. Tonight, my 8 month old son, freshly bathed, fed and sleepy, lay his head on my shoulder. It was dusk, the light was fleeting from the room. I sang him an old Jimmie Rodgers song about peaches and a Hank Williams song about whippoorwills and he wrapped his little arms around my bristled neck and went to sleep with a small sigh. I held him in this perfect moment thinking if it never ended that would be just fine. It did end. I put him down in his slatted crib understanding that it was ending, as I understand light fades at the end of a day. Melancholia drifted over me. The sadness of a perfectly realized perfect moment.

About Iaan Hughes

Iaan Hughes is a deejay on 91.3 KBCS in Seattle. He plays country & western music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

