What I Know About The Honeycutters

What I know about The Honeycutters: They’re from Asheville, North Carolina. They formed in 2007 and used to be called the Bees Knees. Asheville is just north of Route 40. Route 40 begins close to my Maryland hometown. Okay, so that last bit is really about me. I’m tapped. But, if you’ve stumbled upon this blog in search of the truth, you should remember that it comes in many different guises, such as lies, and fictions, tall tales, and misdirection. There’s courtroom truth and bedroom truth and the distance between the two is Mississippi River wide. You can see the other side, but you can’t get there from here. I digress.

The Honeycutters debut album, Irene, came out in 2009. It is a sublime mixture of easy rolling honkytonk, and bluegrass rooted in the unamplified sounds of lap style guitars and kick drums, and bass lines made for two-steps. Their melodies are familiar as flower print dresses. I’ve not heard such natural expression of our collective musical memory since the first time I heard Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings.

If you’re in Seattle, you’ll have, what I assume will be, a rare opportunity to catch The Honeycutters live. They’ll be performing at the Empty Sea Studio (http://www.emptysea.com/) on Saturday July 10, 2010, followed by a live radio gig with me on Sunday morning at 8am on KBCS. There’s a lot going on in your life. There’s a lot going on in the city. I know. Treat yourself to this. You deserve it. What do I know about The Honeycutters? I know they’re really good at what they do and they deserve it too.

About Iaan Hughes

Iaan Hughes is a deejay on 91.3 KBCS in Seattle. He plays country & western music.
This entry was posted in Bluegrass, Country, Folk, Honky Tonk, Music, Oldtime, Radio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Know About The Honeycutters

  1. Auntmama says:

    What I know about Iaan’s blog: Truth crosses the Mississippi like cars along Route 40. The Honeycutters are sweet, Empty Sea is lovely and I do appreciate all the notions you share. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

