KBCS Fall Membership Drive

On Thursday, October 8th KBCS begins the Fall Membership Drive amidst internal upheaval due to recent show cancellations. It can be difficult to give or ask for money when something we love has changed. I believe deeply in the continued value of community radio however and below are thoughts referring to the recent changes as well as a request for support. Non commercial, unscripted radio remains one of our most real, cherished and true reflections of who we are as a people and a rollicking way to try and define ourselves!

There’s an old Zen teaching warning us to not be distracted by the finger pointing toward the moon. Community radio is that moon. It is bigger than all of us, has been here before some of us, and hopefully, will be here long after the rest of us. There will be disagreements and at times failure in a most human of ways to find resolution. Community radio is bigger than that. More important than that. At its essence, community radio is the voice of the disenfranchised. We live in a country where we can hear that voice, sometimes its quiet. Other times its a roar, but in all cases it is a reflection of real people doing real things. People you know, or easily could know. Community radio is the last city without walls. That’s a huge part with why I’m enamored by it. You can call me and like the flap of a monarch’s wing can change the course of the whole show. You can email me, twitter me, and facebook me. And, I should add, you do. I stand at this microphone not as an authority, so much as a filter. I stand on the shoulders of those that came before me and am steadied by you, the listener. Over the last decade I keep hearing this phrase, freedom is not free. Well, I guess it’s not and that’s why I come to you today and ask you to sustain this station and our community by becoming a member. It’s this mission, this thing we’re all a part of, if you’re listening right now, you’re swept up in its current and like any family there’s bound to be change and sadness mixed with the joy and highs and like the man says, “flesh and blood is flesh and blood, but you’re the one I need.” While I was thinking about what I wanted to say to you today the words of Tennyson came to mind:

Come, my friends.
‘T is not too late to seek a newer world.
Push off, and sitting well in order smite
The sounding furrows; for my purpose holds
To sail beyond the sunset, and the baths
Of all the western stars, until I die.
It may be that the gulfs will wash us down;
It may be we shall touch the Happy Isles,
And see the great Achilles, whom we knew.
Tho’ much is taken, much abides; and tho’
We are not now that strength which in old days
Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are,–
One equal temper of heroic hearts,
Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.

Please consider making a donation to community radio. 425.564.5000. Without you there’s only….

About Iaan Hughes

Iaan Hughes is a deejay on 91.3 KBCS in Seattle. He plays country & western music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

