If You Want To Go To Heaven You Got To D-I-E

waylon1

Ol’ Waylon had his chance back in 1959. Today I hosted the 6th annual tribute to Waylon Jennings and his music. Maybe a strange choice since many of the singers played on Walkin’ the Floor have d-i-e-d and I could spend almost every show doing some sort of canned tribute to dead honky tonk stars. Strange to that Waylon’s sound isn’t exactly Walkin’s sound. It rocks more and yeah, I do think the outlaw bit has gotten out of hand. Waylon though is a return to my roots. My early years spent watching Buck and Roy pick and grin and Charlie Daniels grease the devil were there but meanwhile it was Waylon whose voice more than anything hooked me. What kid didn’t want to be a new, modern day Robin Hood in a supped up Charger? It looks like it should fast and tough. A bit like Waylon. Look at his early pictures and tell me he couldn’t have been a movie star. Then the beard and the gut came and tell me he wasn’t a honky tonk hero. Tell me that wasn’t the better choice.

About Iaan Hughes

Iaan Hughes is a deejay on 91.3 KBCS in Seattle. He plays country & western music.
This entry was posted in Country, Honky Tonk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

